Skip to content

Are You? Surviving Your Serengeti by Stefan Swanepoel

August 25, 2011

I recently had the pleasure of reading and reviewing a copy of ‘Surviving Your Serengeti’ by Stefan Swanepoel compliments of booksneeze.com.  The book is described as an adventure fable that uses metaphors to help you see your inner strengths and use them to overcome challenges in your life both personally and professionally.  The fable part of the book is based loosely on the authors life, which started at birth in Kenya and took him to Hong Kong, South Africa, New York, and California.  The book is broken up into chapters that describe, through metaphor, the seven Serengeti skills.  Each chapter starts with a piece of the fable, which follows a husband and wife on a 3 day safari in Africa, and ends with a summary of the skill written in more plain terms.  Through out the story certain quotes or insights are highlighted by a box to draw your attention to that part of the story.

The good?  The authors use of metaphor followed by a more straight forward description of the skill really helps to emphasize the point he’s trying to make.   He makes it very easy to understand what each skill is, and how it is used in both every day life and the business world.  The book was obviously written for a business person, but yet is applicable to one’s daily doings as well.  I think that the seven animals he chose for his Serengeti metaphors were very well chosen and you could tell a lot of thought went into this book.

The bad?  I felt like the story was forced.  No one that I know talks in the manner that he had the characters talk.  While the story could have been a fascinating one I felt that I wasn’t as drawn in as I should have been.  And the punctuation inconsistencies KILLED me… I could never tell who was talking… was the next paragraph the same person talking, or a new one?  The editor definitely did not adhere consistently to common punctuation rules.

All in all though, I definitely enjoyed the book and I felt like I learned something about myself.  I also couldn’t put it down!  I had it finished in 2 evenings after I put my son to bed.

 

To find out more about the book, the author, and to find out more information about the African Wildlife Foundation (which the book supports) visit http://www.SerengetiBook.com.  To find out what animal you are visit www.whatanimalami.com.

 

P.S. I’m a Wildebeest

 

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

