Skip to content

One last craft project to say goodbye to summer

August 16, 2011

It’s official… summer is over down here in sunny SoFlo 😦 As a teacher I go back to work tomorrow, and the kiddo is back to school on Monday.  I think he’s more excited than I am…

As a final farewell to summer Collin and I decided to do something with some of the nicer shells we spent all summer collecting.  A few years back I remembered seeing a door wreath made from a grape-vine wreath that had shells glued to it. So Collin and I hit the nearest Joanne Fabrics and chose a wreath, and just to make it a little cuter (and easier to hang) some wire lined ribbon.

I think the hardest part was weeding out the ones we liked best, there were probably enough shells for 5 wreaths! Planning things out isn’t really Collin’s strong suit, so I used this as practice.  He actually got really into it!

We even got dad in on it… Collin wanted to hang a shell down the middle so Jon took over the drilling for us.

I thought for SURE that the shell was going to crack into a million little pieces, but it all came together awesomely!

Someone was super proud of his hard work!  And I think it came out nicely!

New goal: try to do at least 2 craft projects a month with squirtly… should give us something to do on our mommy/Collin Saturday mornings 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    August 16, 2011 4:34 pm

    too cute! And it gives me an idea of what to do with all our shells we collect ‘down the shore’!

  2. August 16, 2011 5:32 pm

    Very pretty. I’d like to try a wreath one day, looks like it was lots of fun.

    • August 16, 2011 7:22 pm

      It really was! And Collin was really excited all summer to have a goal for his shells!

Leave a Reply

