Skip to content

How much coffee do teachers really drink?

August 17, 2010

I’m not a morning person.  There.  I said it.  I drink my first cup of tea on my way to work each morning… but once I hit my classroom I can’t get my coffee pot started fast enough.  And of course, the smell of my coffee wafting out the door and down the hallway is like a homing beacon for all my friends.  So of course, it only seemed natural to treat my friends like guinea pigs when JavaFit sent me some product samples.  Who knows coffee better than teachers?

When the box arrived it was a beautiful sight…

They even included a hat, a t-shirt made from organic cotton… and a reusable shopping bag!  I love those bags!  I always love when a company supports organic and earth friendly measures.  It gets even better… when I was looking though their product catalog they included I saw a line of not only organic coffee, but fair trade coffee as well.  For those of you unfamiliar with fair trade coffee… basically it cuts out the middle man and the company buys more directly from the farmers, which means the farmers actually get a fair price for their coffee instead of the middle man seeing the profits.

Anyway, back to the coffee!  They sent me a nice selection of their different blends; Energy Extreme, Immune Plus, Diet Plus 62, Original Roast, and Focus Plus.  This is no ordinary coffee!  It is full bodied, medium dark roast and tastes like a normal cup of coffee.  This is no ordinary cup of coffee though, the difference is noticeable in about 10 minutes.  The Focus Plus is probably my favorite.  It has the usual caffeine of a cup of coffee, but they’ve also added some B vitamins as well as Alpha-GPC, which is a dietary supplement that is similar to a natural choline compound in the brain and has been shown in some studies to enhance memory.  The Wiki article is here.  I have to be honest, I was definitely more focused and alert that day.  The Diet Plus 62 is very high-energy as well.  The proprietary blend that they include in the coffee put some pep in my step and I found myself practically bounding around my classroom that day.

I think that of all of the coffee I subjected my coworkers to, that the Focus was their favorite as well.  I think I may have a few of them hooked on the JavaFit!  So… how much coffee do teachers really drink?  I’d say about 2 cups, though we define “cups” very loosely.  Most of the other ladies have very normal sized cups… but for myself and a few others this just would never do.  My husband tends to refer to them as my ‘coffee kegs’.  🙂

disclaimer: I received a product sample in order to facilitate this review.  However, the opinions expressed herein are those of the author only.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Christopher Foley permalink
    August 30, 2010 10:47 pm

    I really enjoyed the Focus coffee. As one of your lucky coworker friends, I appreciated the coffee (I suspect I drink more coffee than you do), I can say that after the coffee I seemed more alert and quickly established priorities and got tasks done. Even though pre school was short and we had a day of wasted time, I got more work done and was happier about where I was preparing my classes. It scares me that a coffee can do this, I hope it’s a combination of the coffee, coworkers and the fact that I’m getting better at what I do.

    Keep nagging me when you make coffee!

    • August 31, 2010 11:11 pm

      I shall nag away… it’s my specialty 🙂 we’ll have to see about getting more javafit… i totally agree with you!

Leave a Reply

