Skip to content

Spot ‘O Tea anyone?

August 13, 2010

Anyone who’s known me for more than a year or two will tell you I’m a caffiene addict.  In college I was at about a pot of coffee a day (or more).  Over the last year I’ve slowly started to replace my morning cup of joe with a cup of tea instead.  I’ll usually follow with coffee… but something about a smooth cup of tea really gets me going in the morning.  The people over at Yogi tea were kind enough to send me two very different types of tea to sample.  Yogi is very serious about their organic/natural mission.  Even the box it came in was made of recycled material and shredded paper for the packing instead of peanuts!  All of their teas are all natural, and most have a lot of organic ingredients.

One is a Green Tea with Goji Berry, which are both high in antioxidants.  This is definitely an excellent morning tea.  There isn’t a ton of caffeine, but just enough for a good pick you up.  The tea is very smooth and you can definitely taste the hints of cherry, blueberry and raspberry.  The other tea was a Chai, which is traditionally made with black tea, but this one is made from Rooibis Leaf, which is also called redbush.  The plant is naturally caffeine free, as is the tea.  This tea happens to be certified totally organic.  When the tea is brewed, the smell it gives off is absolutely amazing!  I let my dad have the first crack at this one since Chai is one of his favorites.  From half way accross the house I could smell it.  The tea has all of the usual spices of a Chai; cardamom, cinnamon, ginger and clove, but it also has stevia for a little added sweetness.  I wouldn’t recommend this tea for a morning brew… those of us who are caffeine junkies just wouldn’t survive!  However, it’s the perfect mid-afternoon pick me up.  The taste was just as amazing as the smell.  I usually sweeten my chai and make it with 1/3 organic vanilla soymilk, but the Yogi chai tea I drank straight as brewed… no sweetener, cream or soymilk!  It gave me a little pep, but since there was no caffeine I didn’t have to worry about being up all night.

Yogi tea is based out of Oregon but is available nation wide… I found it at my local Publix!  I have definitely found my new morning tea… I can’t wait to try the next flavor 🙂

disclaimer: I received a product sample in order to facilitate this review.  However, the opinions expressed herein are those of the author only.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

