Skip to content

Red Wine Anyone?

August 5, 2010

Nothing says “I’ve had a bad day” like some comfort food and a really nice glass of red wine.  I’m usually a Chianti or Super Tuscan kind of girl… I like them heavy and bold.  However, being a girl on a budget, it’s rare I can treat myself to a good super tuscan… a really good one runs about $40 a bottle.  My yearning for a good red wine led me to send my husband to the local Total Wine store.  There he found Katerina, who is the perfect wine associate to work with, she really listens to what you like and works to pair you with the perfect wine for you.  She usually runs the wine tasting on the weekends, and always has a little bottle of Shirley Temple soda for the kids behind the counter.  Knowing my husband didn’t want to spend quite that much on a bottle of wine, she led him to the Piazzano Ventoso bottle of Colli della Toscano Centrale, which is similar to a Super Tuscan, and yet not as expensive.  I was a little apprehensive at first, which was silly, Katerina recommended it for me after all.  I poured myself my first glass and was amazed at what I found there!  The wine had very soft tannins, and the perfect level of acidity.  it was soft on the palate, but very bold in flavor.  It has a very earthy aroma at first, and the more it airs, the more forward the hint of cherry becomes.  It could have had a slightly darker taste, so I have to give it a 9 out of 10… but considering it only cost about $10, I’d put this in my top 5 wines under $15.  If you’re looking for a good red wine to wow your guests with… I would definitely recommend this one!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

